The Mind Palace

I Hate Lamy Pens

My journey with fountain pens started with the TWSBI 580 ALR that I got as a gift for my eighteenth birthday. It is a great pen that I got in an M nib size and I carry it to this day. After that day my next big adventure was the legendary Lamy Safari. The pen isn't bad. It writes a nice, wet line, and I personally like the grip design. What I hate about Lamy pens are their proprietary cartridges, which limit you to using only Lamy's cartridges. I can't accept that they force you to use their subpar ink or settle for a converter which, while useful, severely damage the portability of the pen. It's even more insane that they have done the same thing for their ballpoint and roller ball models, and have priced the refills at a ridiculously high price. Given that there are cheaper, universal options that work just as well and offer the same nib styles, such as the Jinhao 599 which looks almost the same as the Safari, Kaweco Parkeo which has the same grip, TWSBI Eco T that has a larger ink capacity, or even the one-to-one clone Hero 359. It's hard to justify the premium price of Lamy pens.

You could argue that Lamy nibs are irreplaceable. That they have great quality control that is strikingly better than those pesky Kawecos with their inconsistent nibs. And to that I would point you to the chart that Lamy itself has put online of their line width ranges for each nib size. Pasted image 20240905153636 ± 0.06 mm? That number is ridiculous! The worst Kaweco factory can provide better consistency. Maybe it's not as big a problem for people that like thick writing but this is still a major flaw that no one is talking about. Sometime later I bought Lamy Nexx with an extra fine nib. And it is exactly the same as the Safari Fine. I guess you just have to buy five units of their nibs and hope you hit the lottery.

This post has been a little rant of mine, but thank you for indulging me. Too bad that the Lamy CP1 looks so great. I might buy it anyway...

#fountain-pen #pen-review